Reviews

 

Max and Andrew feeding BunniesLipsy, Thea, Eva and JoniKeeping the pigs coolRaspberry picking

The following reviews have all been posted by our visitors on the Holiday Lettings/Trip Advisor and Owners Direct websites.  All have given us the highest rating.

“This was the perfect haven for our family – ideal layout, very comfortable and a great location”

We were lucky to find this at the last minute as we were in urgent need of a base to get to the family house which had been flooded in the recent freeze. Dawn and Andrew were wonderful hosts and made us feel very welcome. There were generous provisions already in the kitchen and eggs from the chickens on a regular basis. The weather was unpredictable but there were plenty of logs to build a fire on the colder nights. The house is perfect for family living with more than enough space for young and old alike, with a big selection of toys, videos and games for outdoor and indoor activities. The finishes have been carefully chosen with comfortable sofas, a long table with plenty of chairs for meals, and a very well equipped kitchen. The layout of the bedrooms is flexible to allow parents to be near young children and more than enough bathrooms. It is very well positioned – quiet and yet within easy reach of the surrounding medieval villages and markets. I cannot recommend it highly enough – a rare find. April 2018

“Lovely farmhouse set in the beautiful countryside” 
“We arrived to a very friendly and warm welcome from our hosts Dawn and Andrew and much appreciated fresh supplies in the kitchen. As it was our first visit to the Dordogne they were very helpful regarding the local amenities and places of interest in the area. The property is incredibly quiet and set in beautiful countryside with the horses and cattle grazing the paddocks and we struck up quite a friendship with their lovely border collie Tache. The gite itself was spotlessly clean and had a very well equipped kitchen. It was tastefully decorated with comfortable furniture and very comfortable beds. We were always lovely and warm and had the added bonus of a very efficient wood burner which made the gite very cosy during the cool autumn nights. We look forward to another visit and would definitely recommend it to others.”   November 2017
“Lovely Farmhouse, Lovely Gardens, Lovely Hosts. Honestly, this place is amazing in so many ways.”

“The Farmhouse was beautiful, so well equipped and comfortable we just felt at home from the minute we walked through the door. Games, Books to DVD’s it had everything that you would ever need. The gardens were simply stunning and so well maintained. A heated swimming pool, Table Tennis Table, Swings and a Treehouse all there for you to use. The Gardens are very secluded, secure and child friendly. Whilst we had all these wonderful things, what made the holiday so special was the animals. our 9 year old daughter is fanatical about horses and animals in general. Coming from a busy town you don’t get the opportunity to experience nature close up. There are Horse’s, Pigs , Cows, Chickens and more. You just don’t get the opportunity to hold baby chicks or see a 6 hour old baby calf everyday. These things will be embedded in our daughters memory for who knows how long. You can’t buy these experiences…..A huge thank you to Dawn for letting Olivia spend so much time with you and the horses.   Last but not least. Andrew & Dawn. You are lovely people and were the perfect hosts. We have stayed in many Holiday Villas over the years but none have the complete experience that had last week. The Owners have got this Holiday Letting lark SPOT ON..  Thank you for a lovely, relaxing break.  We have already booked next year at the Farmhouse.  See you July 2018.”         May 2017

“Lovely hosts, comfortable place, friendly animals…just perfect for a family getaway!

 Haut Combiers is one of those rare places on our list that where we’re planning to go back to as soon as we can. Dawn and Andrew are wonderful hosts — so hospitable, kind and relaxed. Our children were thrilled to have a chance to spend time with the resident ponies, horses, pigs, chickens, rabbits, cats, dogs and puppy. Dawn allowed the kids to feed the pigs, brush the ponies, and play with the dogs. They were so happy there that I think they could have stayed there for months, even without the parents! In addition to the happy and kind environment that Dawn and Andrew create for families, we were really impressed with the convenience of the house and their attention to detail. Everything one could ever imagine was thoughtfully provided by the hosts — inside and outside entertainment, a fully functional kitchen with all the cooking tools ready at hand, and clean charming bedrooms. The long kitchen table fit all nine of us very comfortably. Having a living room with enough sofa space for everyone to sit near the fireplace was a definite plus. Before our arrival, they had taken care to put some food and drink (including fresh farm eggs!) into the refrigerator for their hungry and tired guests. We have stayed in many different gîtes/home rentals, but Dawn and Andrew’s tops the list for their kindness and generosity. Thank you! We’ll be back!”    April 2017

(Airbnb review)  “We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Saint-Paul-la- Roche and Dawn and Andrew are excellent hosts. From the small touches of Eggs, Wine, Butter and Bread on our arrival to the fantastic accommodation that is beautifully decorated and very clean.  This was our first time on holiday with our 4 month old baby girl and naturally we had concerns about travelling with her. However we quickly felt at ease and the small touches of a travel cot and baby bath certainly helped us.  I can honestly say that nothing is missing from this holiday home and that you can really tell that Dawn and Andrew have gone the extra mile to ensure that anyone who visits have a fantastic holiday. Thank you so much for both being so lovely and we hope to visit you again in the future.    September 2016

An ideal wonderful family holiday.    Dawn and Andrew are such kind and thoughtful hosts and the house is beautifully equipped and the super welcome pack was much appreciated including the wine after such a long drive. The children were rarely out of the fabulous pool and loved all the animals, Fleur the collie, the  ponies, Sammy and Lipsy, rabbits, pigs, cats and hens. The layout of the house also lent itself to the two of us after the family left. A beautiful area with lots of interesting places to visit. Very relaxing!    September 2016

“Delightful House with warm welcoming owners.”   We were a family of 4 adults and 3 children aged 3, 7 and 8 . Firstly the photos on the website do not do the property justice ,it is really beautiful and welcoming , a real home. The kitchen is extremely well kitted out with everything you could possibly need. Bedrooms were extremely comfortable with lots of wardrobe space.We lived outside enjoying the wonderful pool ,which was cleaned every morning by Andrew. The children loved all the animals and enjoyed helping Dawn feed the chickens , pigs , rabbits and ponies, however Fleur the dog won everyones hearts. All in all it would be hard to find a more perfect holiday home.  August 2016

“Everything was fantastic” We absolutely loved everything about this holiday house.  The house was perfect, well equipped, clean wonderful beds, pillows, duvets, sheets and towels.  Pool towels included.  Kitchen well equipped.  Dish washer was one of the quietest we have ever heard. A Dyson cordless vacuum,  and an excellent washing machine.  Everything was of the highest quality. Dawn and Andrew were marvellous; there if you needed them. Andrew cleaned the pool every morning.  We fell in love with their three dogs – Fleur, Katy and Millie.  We couldn’t have asked for more.  August 2016

Looking forward to staying at Haut Combiers again this year”  This is the third time we have stayed at Haut Combiers, this time for a long weekend. The hosts Andy and Dawn are very welcoming and immediately made us feel at home. The starter pack of essential groceries was very welcome. The gite is in a beautiful rural location, ideal for people looking for a peaceful holiday. it is on the top of a hill so there are panoramic views of the surrounding countryside. Last autumn we saw wild deer on the opposite hillside. The gite has spacious accomodation full of character with original features including the large fireplace, with a wood burning stove. Immediately outside there is a patio with steps leading to a heated swimming pool. The owners have friendly dogs and cats as well as horses and farm animals such as chickens, pigs and cattle. The animals are well fenced in leaving plenty of room to walk round the farm. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and will be back.

“We had a dream weekend in rural bliss with wonderful towns to visit all around.” We had a real escape to this lovely cottage surrounded by wonderful views, with a lovely outdoor pool and some gorgeous French towns nearby.
Transfer from the airport was so easy, the cottage was superb and we had amazing views of rural France all around. We’ll never forget the sound of the stags calling on the hills around us as the sun set and the delicious lunch in the nearby town. Magical memories.

“Beautiful house and pool – we will be back!” My partner and I had a very enjoyable stay at Haut Combiers. We particularly like the heated pool and seating area at the back of the house, which is where we spent most of our time. The bedrooms have been beautifully decorated and the kitchen comes well equipped with everything you could ask for in a self-catered property. The owners were incredibly friendly and helpful when directing us to nearby attractions. If you are looking for a tranquil and picturesque holiday destination, then this is the place for you.

 “A charming, extremely comfortable and homely gite, set in the most wonderful rural surroundings.”A very well equipped and beautifully furnished gite, with a fabulous swimming pool set in the gardens. A wonderfully peaceful rural retreat with ducks, chickens, pigs, cattle and horses the only other inhabitants for some distance! The friendly owners were always on hand to give advice and directions to shops, restaurants and places of interest.
It was all we hoped it would be. Perfect!
“Perfection!” We have just returned from two weeks at Haut Combiers and we couldn’t have enjoyed it more. The house is beautiful, inside and out, with wonderful attention to detail and amazing views from every window. The pool is great, a really good size and extremely clean, and we spent every spare moment swimming in it or relaxing by it. Our children really enjoyed being on the farm and helping to feed and look after the animals, as well as having fresh eggs for their breakfast from the chickens! Most of all, Dawn and Andrew could not have been more welcoming and helpful and we really enjoyed meeting them. It was such a joy to spend time at Haut Combiers and we will definitely be back.
“Our weeks stay at Haut Combiers, Aug 2015 has been a truly memorable, fun, relaxed super week. The house was lovely with ample room for seven adults and supplied all our needs and much more. The decor was lovely with a great french feel. There are also a very good selection of games for all. The animals we met around the farm were a great addition, we all loved the pigs and dogs. The pool area was great for relaxing, very clean and the temperature of the water was perfect. We visited Brantome which was a lovely little town with some nice little shops and canoeing. We all had great fun go karting at Teyjac. Dawn and Andrew were lovely owners more than willing to help in anyway required and always available to advise on markets and restaurants. I would most definitely recommend Haut Combiers to anyone and we will most certainly look to return.”

 

“Having stayed at Haut Combiers for two weeks this summer, we have to say that this place is truly amazing. From the friendly and welcoming owners to the clean and well-maintained house and pool area, we truly had a perfect time. On arrival the owners welcomed us with their lovely dogs and over our stay they introduced us to the rest of the animals, including chickens, pigs, horses and many more. It is clear that they are passionate about what they are doing, down to the smallest of details. While we were there we spent a lot of time sunbathing by the pool and had to make the most of the umbrellas provided due to the high temperatures, however we did venture into a few local towns for coffee or to the bakers in the morning for fresh pastries. For our family, this holiday rental was idealistic and characterful, and we hope to return soon. Thank you so much Dawn and Andrew, we couldn’t have asked you to make our holiday anymore special than you already did.”

 

“We have recently stayed at Haut Combiers for two weeks this summer and we have to say that it has been truly fantastic. Thanks to the owners, Dawn and Andrew, we were introduced to all their pets and farm animals, including a new calf and baby chicks. They made our stay welcoming, down to every small detail, by keeping everything well-maintained and clean in the house and by the pool. No matter what the problem was or if anything was needed, they had it or went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. Mostly we stayed by the pool, but we went to a few towns and managed the big hill to the bakers for fresh croissants or coffee in the mornings. We are so glad we chose to stay at Haut Combiers this year and we hope to return soon. Thank you Dawn and Andrew so much.”

 

“Just returned from a fantastic holiday at Haut Combiers. We were 2 families with 3 children aged 2,6 and 7. The house is immaculate and finished to a very high standard. The pool and garden are superb, and secure, which was brilliant for our children. We had fantastic weather but the pool temperature is maintained between 27 and 30 degrees, which makes it very comfortable no matter what the weather is doing. There are no other properties (apart from the owner’s) in close proximity and the views are stunning. During the evenings it is noticeable that you cannot see artificial lights anywhere in the distance, just the stars and moon in a very clear sky. There is no road noise, it is very peaceful and tranquil.”

We also leave a book in the house, should visitors want to leave comments at the end of their stay. The following have been kindly left in this book.

“Thank you so much for your warm hospitality, Dawn & Andrew. Our children and friends truly enjoyed the few days we spent here.  The children were delighted to play outside, to be with the ponies, feed the pigs… and just be kids!  The house is well-equipped with everything one could wish for.  The house is very charming.  We will definitely be back for some well-needed family time.” April 2017

“We have had a lovely stay in your beautiful gite! Many thanks for your wonderful hospitality.  Loved the really well equipped kitchen and everything was so comfortable and well organised. We would thoroughly recommend to friends, especially those with children.”  September 2016

“What a fantastic house – everything you could want and we found a first aid kit on our last morning! Thankfully we didn’t need it! Beds very comfortable and kitchen well equipped – pool fabulous.  Dawn & Andrew made us feel so welcome – we were part of their family.  Our boys – 4 and 5 years old – went with Dawn every evening to feed their menagerie of animals. When we arrived they were afraid of dogs, but Fleur, Katie and Millie have given them great confidence. We have all had the most wonderful holiday and didn’t want it to end.  Thank you Dawn & Andrew for everything.”  July/August 2016

“Thank you very much for letting us all stay in your lovely house.  The house is perfect for all generations and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.  Thank you also for all you help during the two weeks and your very kind invitation to drinks, you made us feel very welcome.”  May 2016

“We have been visiting France since the 1980′s and stayed in many gites but this is by far the best we have ever been to. Absolutely 5* and we can’t think of anything it hasn’t got. Many thanks for your hospitality and your so thoughtful attention to the details. We love it here and, god willing, we will be back.” August/September 2015

“Haut Combiers has provided us all a great week of relaxation and a truly special time. The house supplied us with all requirements and more. There was ample room for seven adults. The pool area was great for soaking up the sun and the temperature of the water was lovely. Andrew and Dawn were lovely and welcoming and took time out to show us all their wonderful animals. The pigs were certainly a favourite and we loved all the dogs, Fleur, Katie and Millie. Fleur felt like one of the family and was highly entertaining when we played table tennis. Places to visit – Brantome, a pretty little town with some lovely quirky shops and fresh produce. For a bit of adventure we all travelled to Teyjac for a Go-Karting session; one hours drive – leaflets in the house. Horse riding at Les Ezyies was fun with all levels of experience at 17 euros per person. This area also has some interesting shops, caves, plus canoeing on the Dordogne, although this is one hour 20 minutes away. Andrew & Dawn are more than willing to offer advice on restaurants etc. We are all sad to be leaving! Thank you for a great week and we look forward to seeing you in the future.” August 2015

“A big thank you Dawn & Andrew for making our holiday truly special. From staying in your beautiful gite with everything we could possibly need, to the fabulous swimming pool to relax beside for hours. From delicious fresh eggs for breakfast, to providing roadside assistance when a cycle ride doesn’t quite go according to plan! All our needs catered for. We have thoroughly enjoyed the tranquility of Haut Combiers and getting to know yourselves and all of the animals. We are reluctantly returning home completely relaxed and looking forward to a return visit. Thank you again.” July/August 2015

“Thank you Andrew & Dawn for the most relaxing holiday! Haut Combiers surpassed all our expectations with it’s comfort, ambience and facilities. There were 7 in our party, two families with a baby, a 1 year old and (almost, nearly) 7 year old and I don’t think any of us were bored at any time with the pool and the farm. We had such glorious weather that we spent virtually all day, every day in and around the pool and every evening sat outside. The pool was fantastic, the house so well equipped, the animals friendly and Dawn & Andrew couldn’t have been more helpful or charming. We are all very sad to be leaving but hopefully it won’t be long before we return.” July 2015

“Thank you very much for our wonderful time here at Haut Combiers. The cottage surpassed all our expectations with so many lovely features inside and out. With 10 in our party, we never at any time felt confined, with so many options at our disposal. We all enjoyed the peaceful surrounds and it was a pleasure to only hear the buzz of bees, birds and the sounds of the farm as we awake each morning. The pool capped it for everyone. P.S. We might have taught Fleur a new trick or two!” July 2015

“What a lovely two weeks in this very comfortable and well equipped gite. The swimming pool has been used extensively as have the relaxing loungers and bottle opener. Dawn and Andrew have been excellent hosts and we have had lots of playtime with the dogs and sometimes the cats. Watching the fluffy toed chickens is quite hilarious – please do not stand on our wall lizard who lives under the 3rd step to the swimming pool! The Proxi (shop) in Jumilhac (known as Arkwrights apparently,) has all you need for an occasional shop. The small bakery to the left has smashing bread and quite acceptable cakes (choux chantilly, mmm.) The LeClerc in Perigueux is great, if a little far. The weather has been really good, if a little hot. It has just started raining as we begin to pack the car to go home! We hope the sun comes back out for the those following us. We will certainly miss the many and varied animals, especially the “beautiful pigs.” Thank you Dawn and Andrew, you have really got it right.” May/June 2015

“We have had a wonderful two week stay at this lovely site. Lazy days by the pool and BBQ’s in the evenings, as well as lots of fun days out in the area. The gite is beautiful and we felt very comfortable here. There is so much to do in the region, it’s hard to fit it all in. We did the tour of local Jumilhac le Grand (chateau) but hadn’t realised it would be quite so long, or that it would start in English but switch to French half way through because a couple of French visitors joined our tour- we made a quick escape! We loved Perigueux and visited twice – on a Monday lots of the shops are shut we went back on a Friday. Had our best meal at “Hercule Poirot” in Perigueux. Can also recommend canoeing in Brantome – even if you don’t try it, you can be thoroughly entertained watching poor people (like us, who got stuck,) on the first weir, much to the amusement of the gathered crowds on the bridges – lots of clapping and cheering for those that eventually make it. Thanks so much to Dawn & Andrew for providing such a friendly welcome and for being so helpful with recommendations for restaurants and shops. We had a lovely evening with them and got to meet all the animals – some are prettier than others (the pigs.) Loved having the dogs around also.” August/September 2014

“We have had the most wonderful two weeks here at Haut Combiers. We love the house, gardens and pool, and the peace and tranquility of the area. Thank you Dawn & Andrew for being so welcoming and we will definitely be returning soon. C’est parfait!” August 2014